It’s the time of the season for…

learning!

(Y’all sick of me talking about seasons yet?)

My intuition is leading me to enter into preparation mode for this next season of my life.  I have a strong, ever present feeling that the word for this season will be “learning”.  It’s going to be good, and probably hard, but I’m looking forward to it nonetheless.  Some categories I’m looking to focus on:

finances: I have a very unhealthy fear of money. This fear is completely, 100% attributed to my personal history with the negative affects that money can have on relationships. I’m daunted by the idea of this unattainable financial frequency hovering above me, always there to remind me that I don’t get it and therefore will be living pay check to pay check for the rest of my life.  Well, Unattainable Financial Frequency, I call bullshit.  I’m educating myself about you and there’s not a thing you can do about it.  Get ready to welcome me with warm, comfortable, secure, savings and 401k bearing arms.

music: I go in and out when it comes to seeking out new music.  Sometimes I’m all about it.  I’m that annoying kid at the party that asks you your favorite bands, simply because suggesting  relatively unknown bands for people to listen to gives me a thrill like no other. Other times I turn the music off for… oh ya know.. weeks at a time. However, after a recent assessment of my iTunes library, I’ve decided to get out there and seek out some new music again.  Maybe this doesn’t seem like a proper “season of learning” category to you? Trust me: Music has always been my most admired teacher. My smartest, most sensitive, cord blazer wearing, pipe-smoking, smoking hot teacher. 

health: My body is important to me. It’s the thing carries me in it. I’m lookin’ to be good to my body.  Which leads me to…

cooking: First of all, shut up.  I mean it. I really want to learn how to cook.  Second of all, I feel like it’s about time.  I’ve been living on my own for a few years now, and all I have to show for it is the ability to microwave, make spaghetti, put together a good sandwich, and work the coffee machine.  Just thinking about all of the culinary skills I’ve yet to cultivate makes my head spin (and my stomach growl). Thank GOODNESS my beautiful friend Debbie has started her very own recipe and cooking blog!  No pressure Deb, but I will be checking in everyday- my future as a Chef completely depends on you and your new blog :) 

This list could go on and on and on, as I’m sure it will for the rest of my life (I mean, right?)  This is just my convoluted way of acknowledging the stirring that I’ve felt in my mind and in my heart as of late.  

I’ve never really opened my blog up as a place for discussion (other then that time I needed you to name my fish – thanks again, mom)… So, in an effort to see who’s reading this and to hopefully get to know you better, my question for you is : What have you learned  lately or what have been learning lately?

I’d love to hear from you!

7 responses to “It’s the time of the season for…

  1. you should listen to ben sollee. i’m kind of obsessed. and also very open to obscure music suggestions from you.

    i am learning how to roll with the punches.

  2. What am I learning?

    html.

    But beyond that…

    I am learning that the good and the bad, the beauty and the pain, are going to intermingle and interlock as long as I’m alive on this earth. I need to stop waiting for the bad stuff to go away – and I need to start actively recognizing the gifts.

    Also.

    I am learning that certain things – certain genetic things – certain BODY things – are never going to change. Annie, learn to love your thighs. Or… at least accept them. Or… at least stop worrying about them. Or… at least not let them put you in a sour mood.

    Love your blog, Haley girl!

  3. I’ve been reading a really fascinating book about the intersection of psychology and theology, which also speaks to a lot of general philosophy-of-science issues that I’d just never thought about before. It’s exciting. It makes me miss school.

    I’m also learning how choosing to not be hurt actually makes the world a better place. Not in a way that you shut yourself off to hurt, but in a way that you refuse to make it worse than it is, which in itself is an act of forgiveness and love.

    And I’m learning, little by little, how to be consistently joyful.

  4. Allison:

    -He’s amazing! Thanks so much for the suggestion! Have you seen this video? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5fd9Z7zJVg

    -It was great seeing you at the show last night! You seem to be rolling with the punches really well… I admire the way you’re focusing on enriching the non-work related aspects of your life, as opposed to just being really really pissed off. Very admirable.

    Annie:

    -HTML. UGH.

    -“actively recognizing the gifts”… love that.

    – And I, along with the rest of the planet, love YOUR blog!

    Drew:

    -What book?

    -Learning how to be consistently joyful sounds like the best lesson ever. Your friendship is one of my joys! Skype soon?

  5. oh the pressure! :o) Seriously… would love for you to come hang in the kitchen with me some time. We’ll make a mess and it’ll be fun.

    I’m constantly learning that I still have a lot to learn. And I mean a lot.

    Love the blog… added you to my other blog roll.

  6. I’ve been learning Spanish :)

    and how much work (and fun!) kids are… but I’m preeety sure you’re learning that too.

    and I’m learning that I don’t have to be confined to any place, culture, or idea, and that there is A LOT of world to discover.

    and in a month, I’ll be learning a looooot more than I’m probably ready for. ha.

  7. hm….learning: how to patiently love and pray for the hearts of loved ones instead of my normal modus operandi: force people to be healed and whole. learning how that doesn’t work…:)

    learning that simpler is richer and sweeter and that it is not place but people.

    learning that it is alright not to have my own kitchen at the moment…sigh*

    how to be a gracious artist, making room for and encouraging the art in others.

    oh, and learning that the “live at lynwood” album is beautiful! :) :)

    peace~*
    sarah b.

Leave a Reply

